Blog Tour: ”Fair Play” by Tracy A. Ward

Writing three plays for a nationally acclaimed theater in Phair, Texas, wasn’t supposed to put my inheritance at risk and force me into constant contact with Noah Blake–the very guy I love to hate. But with one chance to prove to my controlling father that I can succeed as a playwright, I’ve developed a major case of writer’s block.

Cue Noah, my older brother’s best friend and the guy I’ve avoided since my crush-gone-bad days. And now my director thinks he’s the key to unleashing my creativity. He thinks Noah is my muse. Discovering the fate of the theater is also in my hands, I have no choice but to collaborate with my worst enemy. But it’s more than just a great scene Noah inspires. Now everything I thought I wanted is put to the test. And the guy I swore I was over still has a hold on my heart. 

REVIEW

This was a very sweet book J I stayed all night to read it and I don’t regret this. This was the first book I’ve ever read whit a person who actually writes. Ashlyn is a thirty-year-old-woman who writes plays for the theater. She and Noah known each other for many years, but she started to hate Noah when she was seventeen and from then, they were in the opposite sides of the boat.

But Ashlyn had a crush with Noah and when Lucas, the theater’s director, put them to work together, that fire started to smolder. The attraction between them was palpable and they were consumed by it. Their lives weren’t simple and they really needed that relationship.

Noah’s father died and he was an alcohol addict and he also was violent. He moved in Phair with his stepmother and he actually loves this city. Only the city won’t be the same if the theater will be closed. So, Ashlyn is the only one who could save it. And for that, Noah and Ashlyn must work together.

And when this is happening, they can’t stop it. The love between them grows faster and they have the urge to be near each other. Noah is Ashlyn’s muse and her play is actually about her and Noah, so they had to improvise. And the play is even better when they have sex🙂

But then Kyle comes in town and old memories came out. Noah wanted to protect Ashlyn, but he didn’t see that she doesn’t need help. He is overprotective and he is afraid that he would turn into his father. He blames himself for what happened 13 years ago, but that really wasn’t his fault. He loves so much Ashlyn, even he doesn’t want to admit it. He loved her for all of those years and Ashlyn loved him too, but was so hard until they finally admitted this.

Their love-story was like a rollercoaster. And there was Ashlyn’s brother who didn’t agree with their relationship and he was actually a reason for Noah. He didn’t want to fall in love with his best friend’s sister. But after all, you can’t control your heart. When Queen found out, he was pissed, but in the end he agreed.

Ashlyn has done a great job with her play and the theater hadn’t closed. She won the bet with her father and she made a career from theater. Kyle was a jerk, as always, but he didn’t succeed in his dirty plan. Ashlyn and Noah, even with their divergences, remained together and they had their happy-ending.

I liked their story because it started many years ago (when they almost kissed) and their love has resisted until now, over so many years. They both had their demons and their fears, but after all, they found the happiness and the love into each other. They were both difficult and stubborn, but they finally made it together. They deserved something good because the life wasn’t exactly easy with them.

The book was well written and I’m happy I had the opportunity to read it. I liked that Ashlyn writes plays. It’s not really easy and it’s interesting that she actually put her life on the paper. I recommend you this book because you won’t be disappointed.

RATING

***4/5 moons***

YRI

AUTHOR BIO:

After the birth of her children, Tracy had an epiphany: banking just wasn’t her thing. So she quit her corporate job, let her nanny go and became a not-so-desperate housewife by day, Sexy Women’s Fiction author by night. Her characters are every-day women, following their dreams, searching for that elusive happily ever after.

Growing up the youngest child of a freakishly large family in a small Midwestern town means she never lacks for ideas, inspiration, or moral dilemmas. Being the wife of a corporate attorney, mother of two young children, and living in a Dallas suburb provides unlimited insight into the rest.

In her spare time, Tracy is a chauffeur, a maid, a short-order cook, a coach, a psychic/intuitive who always finds what her husband loses, a yoga nut, a mango margarita connoisseur, and a really bad dancer. She’s currently contracted through Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence imprint. Her debut novel, Fair Play, is now available where ebooks are sold.

INTERVIEW

  1. Tell us something about you. What means writing for you?

TAW:  I’m a typical suburban mom who spends her days chauffeuring kids around, running errands, and finding new plots around every corner and in every conversation.  Writing is a necessity, an escape and a way to keep my sanity.

  1. Were you scared about people’s reaction when they read your book for the first time?

TAW:  Excited and yes, definitely scared.  Reading is so subjective.  Everyone has their own tastes and biases.  What resonates with one is totally missed by another.  Having gone through the publishing experience, I admire anyone who has the guts to put it all out there, whether it be writing a book or competing on the reality shows Americans are so addicted to.

  1. Who is your favorite author and which is your favorite book? Can you recommend us a book?

TAW:  Marian Keyes is my favorite author.  I would recommend reading anything by her.  Her book, The Other Side of the Story is the one that first made me think, “hey, I can write books and get published, too.” It’s about three different women.  One is a literary agent, one a writer, and one becomes a writer by total accident.  Of course the story is much more involved than that, but it changed my whole perspective on writing for fun vs. writing as a career.

  1. Which book do you wish you could have written?

TAW:  Again, Marian Keyes books, particularly the ones involving the Walsh sisters.  The characters are so brilliantly human, relatable and funny I wish I would’ve thought of them.

  1. If you were a supernatural creature, which creature would you be?

TAW:  I would be a vampire. I’ve long had a fascination with them since my early days of reading Stephen King and Ann Rice.  I do have to say that today’s version of vampires are much more scary than the earlier versions.  I prefer night to day anyway, so I’d make a great vamp.🙂

  1. Does music inspire you? What kind of music do you like to listen?

TAW:  Music does inspire me.  I listen to all kinds, but mostly prefer rock and alternative, though I also very selectively listen to country.  I love anything by The Killers, U2, and The Civil Wars.

  1. What do you think about Romania and Romanian literature? Have you been in Romania?

TAW:  I must plead ignorance about Romanian literature.  Maybe it’s the language barrier.🙂  I’ve never been to Romania, but would love to one day.

  1. Do you like extreme sports?

TAW:  I do like extreme sports– more to watch than to participate in.  You’ll never see me do anything seen on the X Games.  I do value my life.  But they are quite fun to watch.

  1. Do you have another project in your mind?

TAW:  I am currently under contract for five more books with Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence line.  The next two will finish the Fair series, the other three are a new series entirely.  I’m excited about all of them.

  1. Would you like to say something to your Romanian readers?

TAW:  Eşti cel mai tare/şmecher or you’re the best!

You can find Tracy at the below places:

Website

Facebook

Twitter

You can find Fair play at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

And now a giveaway🙂

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

Thanks for stopping by and good luck! And Mrs. Ward, thank you for the interview, especially for the last question!🙂

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

Lasă un răspuns

