Review: ”Faking It” by Cora Carmack

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

REVIEW

I just don’t know how to start. I have so much to say and I feel like I can’t express myself well enough. I’ll try to put in this review all my feelings I’ve had while I read this book, which was an amazing book, much better than Losing It and Losing It was an amazing book.

This story was more real, at least for me. Many people are broken and are suffering and bad thing are happening all over the world.

“I think everyone does. Even happy people. They may not admit it to anyone, but I think they feel it. I think they close their eyes, or go for a run, or take a long shower, so that hey can forget just for a second who they are and what they have to do day in and day out.
Living is hard.
And every day our feet get heavier and we pick up more baggage. So, we stop and take a breath, close our eyes, reset our minds. It’s natural. As long as you open your eyes and keep going.

 Mackenzie aka Max (she didn’t like Mackenzie at all) was broken. Her life, her soul, her mind were broken. She was so destroyed. She wanted to be strong, God, she hasn’t cried in years, but that strength was just to cover the fear from her soul and the loneliness. She was reckless, she had piercings, she had tattoos and she didn’t see the color of her hair in years. Her boyfriends were always bad boys, like Mace, her actual boyfriend, and she was closed inside her. Her parents wanted her to be perfect, but she isn’t and that’s her perfection. She was hiding her tattoos ad piercings from her parents and tried to be perfect for them, but that was just an act. And that’s how she met Cade aka The Golden Boy. She was in a coffee shop and she was with Mace but then she spoke with her parents and they were coming at the café. She told them that she had a boyfriend and she met him at library, the total opposite of Mace. And now she must find a fake boyfriend. And that boyfriend is Cade.

Cade is the perfect boy, sexy, charming, smart and the opposite of Max. He spelled her parents and now they adore him. And he’s an actor. But he is broken too and even he wore that mask of perfection, he isn’t perfect at all. His heart is broken and he is still suffering after Bliss. But when he saw Max, something changed. He accepted to be her fake boyfriend, but she must go on a date with him. He knew that Max is broken and he knew that she isn’t good for him, but she is all he wants.

‘’Never before had I fell so intensely and so quickly. Max swept into my life like a hurricane, and I never stood a chance.’’

The attraction between them is huge and even if they now that they aren’t good for each other, they couldn’t resist. They faked that relationship, but it became more and more real. In the beginning was only desire and passion, but the feelings began to grow and that was harder than it seems.

“I never dated a girl like her, and she’s probably never dated a guy like me. But sometimes you don’t know what you’re looking for until it’s already knocked you flat on your back.” 

Max is not the relationship girl because she can’t handle. She is scared, she knows that she would screw the things up sooner or later and that’s why she couldn’t be with Cade. She thinks that he is too good for her and she left. He said once that he doesn’t fight, he let the people go and she thought that this was the best choice, but it was the worst.

 “I let people go.” 

‘’Don’t you see who I am? What I cause? I’m poison.’’

‘’You are not poison, Max.’’

‘’I am. I ruin everything good that comes into my life. It all rots around me, and you would be exactly the same way.’’

‘’You’re wrong. You couldn’t ruin me, because everything about you makes me better. You make me take chances and make bolder choices. You make me less concerned with being perfect and more concerned with being real. You make me want to be fearless.’’

BESOS-labrujita-in-love-kiss-comments-3-17-10-PARY-k-album-Love-Couples-Couple-bw-sandee-morenita3_large

Cade couldn’t stand the thought that if he would fight for her, he would lose her and he didn’t do anything and here he is wrong. He should fight because the love is always worthing and his love was Max, but he still didn’t do anything and Max didn’t do anything and that’s how the things are always complicated!

 But he would fight for her when his mind returns in his head and that’s the best thing that happened!

“There are some things that are worth fighting for, no matter the outcome, and you are one of them.” 

“I’m glad you fought for me,” she said.
„I’m glad you let me.” 

“Trust me. This was much better than the alternative. I’m exactly where I want to be.” He glanced down at me and gave me a half-smile.” 

There were tensed moments too, especially when Max confronted her parents. They wanted her to be perfect, to be like her sister. They didn’t really see who she was, they didn’t see Max. They were harsh with her because they never supported her. They thought that if she isn’t the perfect and good kid, she wasn’t good. They tried her to turn into Alex and that’s what annoyed me. The parents should love their kids the way they are. They shouldn’t try to turn them in something else and that’s why I never wanted a brother or a sister. There will be always a difference. Always the brothers would be compared and one of them would be the perfect kid. And when that’s happening, the other kid would be disappointed. He never would consider himself good enough and that’s bad because his soul is hurt and he could destroy his life. Max is that kid. She never considered herself good enough for her parents and she only felt good in music. That was her drug and when she met Cade she was scared and she didn’t consider herself good enough for him. But they fit each other perfectly. And the pain just made Max stronger. Pain is changing people.

“Your pain made you strong. It made you passionate and alive. It made us both who we are.’’

“After what could have been an eternity or a few seconds, Cade whispered, „Pain changes us. Mine made me want to be perfect, so that no one would ever want to leave me again”

Their relationship was beautiful, passionate and strong. Even if Max left after they had sex, they couldn’t stay away from each other very long. They tried, but they couldn’t.

“I’m angry that you keep pushing me away when I know you don’t want to.” 

“I’m tired of the way we both pretend.
Tired of always wanting and never giving in.
I can feel it in my skin, see it in your grin.
We’re more. We always have been.

Think of everything we’ve missed.
Every touch and every kiss.
Because we both insist.
Resist.” 

“You don’t know how much I’ve thought about this tattoo. I want to memorize it so that every time I close my eyes I can see the way it accentuates your body.” 

When she confronted her parents, she confronted her past too. She tells Cade how her sister died and she fights for the first time with her fear. And now she knows that Cade will always be there for her, no matter what.

“I’ll remind you every day how amazing it feels when your body touches mine. I’ll remind you of the good times, and help you forget the bad. I’ll remind you who you are when life has beaten you down and made you doubt it. I’ll bust down your door in the middle of the night and kiss you until you remember that your fears are just that, and they can’t control you. I’ll take my chances against your fickle heart if it means it’s mine.” 

Their love is to fight for. They are perfect together and even any of them aren’t perfect, together are them against the world and they are perfect. Cade realized that he never actually loved Bliss because Max is the one he loves. He loved her from the first second he saw her and she is his world. He would do anything for her because he wants to. He is not sacrificing himself for her like Max thought, he does things for her because he wants to, because Max is the most important person for him and because his love for her is endlessly.

“Even the good things from our pasts still only belonged in the past”

This book was more than amazing and I have no words to describe it. It deserves more than 5 stars and I think that’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. The story is original, well written and it’s not boring at all. The life story of Max and Cade is amazing and this book was too short! I can’t wait for Finding It but I think Faking It is my favorite book from this series because the story was too good. I recommend you this book with all of my heart and if you’ll read it (you definitely must read it), you’ll be surprised and you won’t regret the lost time. Cora Carmack, you’re one of my favorite authors ever and I wish you good luck with all your books because I’m sure they’ll be amazing and I’ll read them all! Amazing book!

RATING

***10/5 moons***

white

What do you think?

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

Lasă un răspuns

