Review: ”Rule” by Jay Crownover

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters 

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

REVIEW

I’m a little disappointed because I thought this book would be much better. In the first place it was a little gross because Rule had tattoos an all over his body and God forgive me, but he had a piercing on his cock, how painful and gross could be that? In plus, his hair was in that stupid style, mohawk and it was painted in purple! I don’t have anything with people’s choices because are their own lives, but I never would like someone who has tattoos from head to toe. It’s OK, a tattoo on the arm or some tattoos on the body, but all body covered in tattoos is a just gross in my opinion. When I read the book’s synopsis I thought that this is a book with a bad boy and a good girl and the boy has also tattoos, but Rule wasn’t just a bad boy and a man-whore, he was a disaster. He didn’t care and even when he was with Shaw, he was just rude sometimes.

812dfff638bfc3bb79c6b402b55f6ee1_zpsf8f2cf5f

He has known her for so many years and just like that, in one night he suddenly couldn’t get her off from his head. Until then he was blind, do what? After she thrown herself at him on her birthday and they had sex, he just realized that the Earth is round and Shaw is actually a girl. What a miracle! And then he started falling for her! WOW! Until then he thought that she is his brother’s girl and he didn’t have eyes for her, but after sex, everything changed, of course! His name describes him so well! He makes his own rules and she breaks everyone’s rules. He is a bastard, but that didn’t stop Shaw from loving him so many years.

“It’s always been you even when I didn’t want it to be, even when it broke my heart over and over again. It’s just always been you.” 

Shaw was the perfect girl, every time she went after the rules and she has done what her parents told her. She had a stupid boyfriend but fortunately she broke up with him. She is smart, good, has blond hair and stunning green eyes and she is in love with Rule (obvious). I found myself in her (a little) because she hadn’t so many friends and close people because the closest people are the ones who disappoint you the worst. But Remy was her best friend and when he died, everyone became strange. Rule didn’t speak with his parents, Rome was in army, Remy was dead and Shaw tried to keep that family together. She was like a daughter for Rule’s parents and she picked up Rule every Sunday and took him to his parents. And in every Sunday, Rule was in bed with some slut and Shaw’s heart hurt even more. She was a good girl, but her parents were the worst. They forgot her birthday! They forced her to be with Gabe even she didn’t want to and they never were there for her!

Rule’s parents were the same, especially his mother. When Remy died, she told Rule that he should be there, not Remy. Woman, how could you say something like that?! Maybe Rule is not the perfect son, but he didn’t deserve those words. Don’t you think he blames himself enough for Remy’s death? Don’t you think he is hurt when his OWN mother tells him that he should be death and he is responsible for his brother’s life? Even if he is strong, those words coming from his own mother are hurting and they are hurting very bad. And in the end she wants Rule to forgive her and she comes to apologize. After three years of blaming Rule, she now comes to apologize, after the bad is done? She has serious issues! She wanted Rule to be Remy and even Remy wasn’t perfect and maybe he had bigger issues, she still loved him more. And now, after all she had done, she wants Rule to be Remy? She is sick!

Rome was the best and I think he is my favorite character because he always tried to be the voice of reason and he always was the big brother who protected all of them. He loved Shaw and she was like a little sister for him, so that’s why he was so protective with her and warned Rule so many times. He wanted Rule and Shaw to be happy and he always knew that Shaw was in love with Rule. Damn, everyone knew that but Rule because he was so blind to see it!

Ayden was a very good friend for Shaw and she was the one who was there for her when things with Rule went wrong and she also had a crush with Jet, the lead singer of a local band. But that’s in the 2nd book.

Cora was the best, she was so funny and she cared about Rule and his friends like her own brothers, but her story is in the 3rd book, so let’s wait🙂

Gabe was the worst. He is a psycho. He thinks that if he is rich, he can have all the world. He stalked Shaw and he wanted to be her boyfriend and he didn’t understood the word NO. He only wanted to be with her because the people were laughing because Shaw left him for the tattooed boy. But he didn’t even love her. And he had really problems with his mind because nobody sane don’t do what he had done.

Anyway, Rule and Shaw’s story was intense, passionate and complicated. They started with sex and then they found out that between them was something and they became lovers but then they had fights and they suffered and then old secrets came out and their story was like a roller-coaster. They had intense moments and when they kissed, they weren’t pleased only with this.

But Rule really loved Shaw and he was a zombie without her. Shaw loved him too and they shared something unique.

‘’You have me Shaw, any way you need me, any way you want me, you have me.’’

“Here’s my heart Shaw. You have it in your hands and I promise you’re the first and last person to ever touch it. You need to be careful with it because it’s far more fragile than I ever thought and if you try and give it back I’m not taking it. I don’t know enough about love to know for sure that’s what this between us is, but I know that for me it’s you and only you from here on out and I can only promise to be careful and not push you away again. Life without you in it is doable, but if I have a choice I want to do it with you by my side and I’m telling you I’m not running away from the work it takes to make that happen. Shaw I’m not scared of us anymore.” 

I didn’t like this book because there was too much description and I think Rule and Shaw talked more in messages than face to face. They didn’t communicate very well and if they’ve resolved their problems together with words, they could’ve been better and their relationship could’ve been easier. And in the end Shaw was so stupid and Rule was more stupid. I love her, but I don’t do anything to take her back and I love him but if I gave everything, I want everything. They should’ve been more mature.

“Opposites don’t just attract they freaking catch fire and burn the entire city down!” 

burning-heart-love-wallpapers-heart-wallpapers-valentine-wallpapers-1280x720

I liked this book, but I had bigger expectations and I thought it would be amazing and it wasn’t. It’s a good story, but important parts were described and the action wasn’t really there. I liked that Rule called Shaw Casper🙂 It’s cute!

RATING

***3/5 moons***

 LUFK

What do you think?

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

Lasă un răspuns

