Review: ”The Collector” by Victoria Scott

He makes good girls…bad. 

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.

REVIEW

This was a very good book and I like it, but the first time, when I saw the cover and when I read the synopsis, I thought this would be a book which you can’t put down. I knew the book has a bad boy and a good girl and I thought this will be my type of book, but it wasn’t how I’ve expected. I mean, Dante Walker is THE BAD BOY, but he isn’t actually that bad boy. I don’t know how to explain it, but he just didn’t reach at my heart J He is a collector and he collect souls for Boss Man (Lucifer). Dante has to collect Charlie’s soul, but something unexpected is happening. He fell in love with her and he wants to protect Charlie, even this means that he would die.

“I love you, Charlie,” I say. „I fucking love you so much.” 

Charlie is that saint girl who likes the school and she wants to make this world better. She likes Skittles (yumi!) and even if her parents died, she is a good person and she didn’t change in bad after that tragic moment. She lives with her grandmother and her best friends are Blue and Annabelle. But when she met Dante, everything changed. He made Charlie to sign a contract and he convinced her that she is ugly, so in that way, she would ask for more beauty. And she does exactly that without knowing in what danger she is.

In the beginning, I hated Dante because he was a totally jerk and he made fun of Charlie. But then he fell in love with her and when he saw that Charlie’s soul became increasingly darker, he was sorry for what he has done and he wanted Charlie to stop asking for beauty. Then he realized that he liked Charlie in the way she was before. But when he realized that, it was a little too late. Charlie couldn’t stop from asking. She changed completely. Her hair was brighter, her teeth were white and bright, she had curves and her skin was brighter. But all those things darkened her soul. And Dante knew that.

Charlie and Dante had a fight, but then Charlie kissed Blue and Dante was like a crazy. He told her he loves her and then they kissed. Their love was a complicate process, really. It took so much time until Dante realized that he is in love with Charlie and then he almost lost her.

“My lips move against hers, and the kiss says everything I’d hoped to hear. It tells me she loves me, and that she’s in this forever.” 

Blue and Annabelle were good friends and they were with Charlie when she needed them. And Blue is a hero even he was a little annoying, I like him and what he had done for Charlie is remarkable. Annabelle is that crazy little friend, but she sees that Dante is in love with Charlie, so she had a little chat with him. They are good friends.

And there are Valery and Max, Max is Dante’s best friend and Valery is a liberator. They helped Dante and Charlie and even if they didn’t always agreed with each other, they wanted Charlie safe. Charlie had always seen the good in Dante, even if he seemed lost. He had his demons and his loss and the life wasn’t really easy, but then he met Charlie and things became better until the last fight.

“She raises her hands and places them on either side of my face. My skin burns beneath her touch. ‘I think you’re beautiful.’
I smile, thinking she’s done. But she releases my face and places her palms on my chest, directly over my heart.
‘You’re beautiful right here,’ she says.
I close my eyes, and the breath rushes from my lungs.
‘I see the good in you, Dante,’ Charlie continues, her words rolling together off her tongue. ‘Even if you don’t, I do. You have a good heart. You know how I know?’
I open my eyes. She’s looking at me like nothing else in the world exists. Like the entire planet and all of mankind just vanished. She slowly wraps my hands inside her own as best she can and places them on her chest. ‘Because I feel it here.’ She taps our hands against her chest. ‘I know you’re good, Dante. Because I feel it inside of me.” 

The end wasn’t unexpected, but it made me curious and I think I’ll read the 2nd book too. I’m a little bit curious.

RATING

***3.5/5 moons***

yugy

QUOTES

“Because I see you. Even though you try so hard to hide, I see you, anyway.”

“And the band—oh, sweet mercy—the band. They’re like a cross between mini Justin Biebers and the Jonas Brothers, and the Halloween covers they’re playing make my ears bleed.”

“You’re beautiful. If you believe it, they’ll believe it.”

“An enormous smile covers her face, and she throws her little kid arms around my neck. The sensation strikes something inside of me. Something I haven’t felt in a very long time. Like a warm fuzzy or some shit.”

What do you think?

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

3 thoughts on “Review: ”The Collector” by Victoria Scott

  1. Rita Webb spune:

    I enjoyed your review! I’ve been anticipating a chance to read this one, and your review helped me understand what this book is about a lot better.

  2. Lexy spune:

    Si eu vreau sa ma apuc de ea zilele astea pentru ca am auzit multe lucruri bune despre ea. Sper sa se ridice la inaltimea asteptarilor, dar din cate zici, mai bine ma mai domolesc nitel :))

Lasă un răspuns

