Review ”Opal” by J.L. Armentrout

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

REVIEW

NOOOOOOOOOO!!! How could you do that??!! Do you want to kill me with that end???

Why must exist the cliffhanger endings??? Why???? And JLA, why do you like to kill us? When ”Origin” comes out?? When??!! Why the book must have a cliffhanger ending?? It’s a torture for the readers. It’a a torture for human race. I love your books, Jennifer, and your imagination and your mind, but why this end must be like that???

In the beginning, the book was a little boring and I think that’s why I didn’t finish it until now. Everything was tensed. After Adam’s death, Dee was so unhappy and so strange for the Dee I’ve known. She suffered very much and she blamed Katy for Adam’s death. Damn, even Katy blamed herself for Adam’s death. Dee became colder and she didn’t speak with Katy a long time after that event. But she was funny too sometimes🙂

“Oh, dear God and baby Jesus in the manger, my eyes!” Dee shrieked. “My eyes!”

And then there was Dawson, Daemon and Dee’s brother. He came home after Katy and Daemon made a trade with Will (who is a bastard), but he wasn’t the same. Without Beth near him, he was lost. At school were a lot of rumors about he and Beth and the people were really surprised because Beth wasn’t with him. But this isn’t matter. Dawson was a wreck and he wasn’t the same without Beth. Dawson was quiet and thoughtful and he just wasn’t like he was before. Everything about him changed because his life changed too.

Blake was a little piece of shit and I totally hate him. He hasn’t any excuse for what he did and I think he is the most annoying person on the planet. He is sick and I mean it. He is obsessed by all of this crap with that Luxen and the DOD. The other people don’t matter. The only thing which matters is his stupid plan. He is obsessed about Katy too and he is just like a freak. He risked Daemon, Katy, Dee, Dawson, Matthew and Andrew’s life for his sick plan. That dude is a jerk and when I really started to feel sorry for him…

Ash was a bitch, like always, but she really suffered when her brother died and, of course, she blamed Katy for that. She doesn’t miss any chance to make Katy to feel bad and I think she still has feelings for Daemon and because of that she throws in Katy with bitchy words about her and Daemon, but Katy is a smart girl. Andrew, her brother, is a little haughty, but he is suffering too and he cares about Dee. And Matthew is the voice of conscience and he keeps everybody calm. He is rational and he must take care about all of them.

Daemon is that arrogant, amazing bad boy, whom every girl loves, but he is very enigmatic. Nobody knows what is in his head. But he has a huge ego. I think he is the first boy who knows how handsome and sexy he is and he doesn’t try to hide it. He knows what effect he has. He really loves Katy and he would do anything for her. He would die for her if that means she would be safe. Even he doesn’t want to say those three words to Katy, he is in love with her and it’s a for-life-kind-of-love. He still hates Blake and here I agree with him and he is still the same playful type. He tries to find the funny part in the ugliest moments and he is one of my favorite characters.

“I have the feeling we just made a deal with the devil, and he’s going to come back and want our first-born child or something.”

Daemon waggled his brows. „You want kids? Because you know, practice makes–„

„Shut up.” I shook my head and started walking.” 

I left Katy in the end because she changed the most. She isn’t the same girl anymore. The life was harsh with her and after all those tragedies, especially Adam’s death, she became tougher. She isn’t that little scared girl anymore and she doesn’t refuse a challenge when she sees it. She would do anything for those she loves and she blames herself when something bad is happening. She was almost shot and so close to death for so many times, but she didn’t give up. Now is stronger and she loves Daemon with all her heart and soul. She knows that Daemon loves her too, but she want him to say those words. And he would do that, but then everything would be worse.

“I love you, Katy. Always have. Always will.”

Their goal was to release Beth and Blake’s Luxen, so they must infiltrate in DOD’s headquarters and for that they needed Luc’s help. Luc was a hybrid and he was a kid, but I think nobody is as creepy as him. Anyway, I like him because he is funny, but sometimes he doesn’t take the things seriously. They must train with onyx because that center was full of onyx and they had to resist. But they kept Blake close and this is their huge mistake. They shouldn’t do that because that means trouble.

The love-story between Katy and Daemon is beautiful and pure. They don’t hurry and they take things slowly, but in this book they finally did the big step! (YAY!!) And Daemon can be so sweet when he wants…And when he speaks in his language, it’s so cute J

“Daemon spoke in his language. The lyrical quality of his words made no sense to me.

“What did you say?” I asked.

“There’s really no translation for it,” he said, “but the closest human words would be, you are beautiful to me.” 

Even if in the beginning the book was boring, the end changed everything and I can’t wait for the 4th book! This waiting is killing me because the cliffhanger ends were invented! I hate it sometimes J I highly recommend you this book and this series and all the books written by JLA J You won’t regret if you read them🙂

RATING

***5/5 moons***

white

QUOTES

“He was such an asshole, and I loved him.” 

“Just behave and don’t do anything you’ll regret in the morning.” Her gaze drifted over my shoulder, and she mustered, “Wouldn’t be much.”
“Mom!”
Laughing, she gave me a light shove. “I’m old, not dead.” 

“Kitten…” “Hmm?” I fisted the covers. “Just making sure you’re still with me.” He kissed the side of my leg, right above my knee. “Don’t want you falling asleep or anything.” Like sleep was possible. Ever.” 

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

3 thoughts on “Review ”Opal” by J.L. Armentrout

  1. Lexy spune:

    Ok, nu am aruncat nici un ochi peste recenzie pentru cu abia acum citesc Obsidian , sunt pe la jumatate si nu vreau sa aflu nimic compromitator :)) oricum, trebuie sa iti spun ca ADOR cartea pana acum si sper sa nu ma dezamageasca pana in final😉
    P.S. Daemon m-a cucerit din primele randuri, clar a intrat in topul preferatilor mei :X

Lasă un răspuns

