Blog Tour: „Abby Road” by Ophelia London + Giveaway

abbyroad-blogtour1

Today I have for you a interview with Ophelia and a giveaway. I also will post my review for „Abby Road”🙂 Ophelia was so nice, she answered in Romanian at the last question🙂 Now I’ll let you the book description and the cover:

Touted by the tabloids as the biggest rock star of our generation, Abigail Kelly is used to being in the spotlight. But beyond the glam of Hollywood, her world is falling apart. Still reeling from the death of her brother and wilting under the iron fist of Max, her manager, Abby banishes herself to the secluded beaches of Florida for the summer, thinking some anonymity and sunshine are just what she needs. What she finds, instead, is Todd, an ex-marine eager to embrace life after war. Together, Abby and Todd find the balance Abby’s life has been missing. 

That is, until Max resurfaces, demanding Abby return to Los Angeles to record her band’s newest album. As the pressures of public appearances, paparazzi, and late-night recordings start to mount, Abby will have to risk everything or lose the life she always dreamed of.

Ophelia London’s ABBY ROAD is a love letter to music—both the kind you cherish and the kind you create—as well as a beautiful love story that proves even when everyone in the world can recognize your face, the only people who matter are those who can see inside your heart.

my-love-is-pink

INTERVIEW

  • Tell us something about you. 

Hi! Thanks for having me on your blog! Something about me? Hmm… Well, I grew up in a small town in northern California where the trees are tall and the ocean is wild. Now, I live in a big city in Texas and I love both places. I try to go back home to visit California a few times a year. I really miss it.

  • What means writing for you?

I’ve always been a storyteller, although I didn’t start to study the craft of writing until I got to college. And that’s when I fell in love with it. I wrote my first full-length novel as an assignment when I was in graduate school. It was pretty terrible, but my professor was very supportive and he taught me a lot.

  • Were you scared about people’s reaction when they read your book for the first time?

I was! It always makes me nervous when I know someone is reading my stories. My books are like my babies and no one wants someone to say they don’t love your baby as much as you do.

  • Who is your favorite author and which is your favorite book? Can you recommend us a book?

I love the classics by Jane Austen. She’s been my all-time favorite author for as long as I can remember. “Pride and Prejudice” is my favorite of hers. As far as contemporary, I really love Marian Keyes. She’s Irish and her women’s fiction is wonderful. I absolutely adore “Watermelon” and “Anybody Out There.”

  • Which book do you wish you could have written?

I also really loved the Twilight series. When I read it for the first time, I remember thinking, “Wow, I wish I’d come up with this idea! What an amazing world to live in.”

  • If you were a supernatural creature, which creature would you be?

Going along with Twilight, I would have to say vampire. At least the Twilight kind of vampires—they’re sparkly, rich and beautiful.

  • Does music inspire you? What kind of music do you like to listen?

Yes! I’m constantly inspired by music when it comes to writing and I always create a playlist to go with my stories. My taste in music really varies. For example, in my newest book “Abby Road,” the story is heavily influenced by The Beatles, so there are a lot of song references throughout the book. That was really fun to write!

  • What do you think about Romania and Romanian literature? Have you been in Romania?

I haven’t had much exposure to Romanian literature and I’ve never been to Romania, but it looks like an amazing place to live. One of my writing buddies traveled extensively through Romania and is currently writing a YA novel set in Bucharest. I was able to read some of it a few weeks ago and it really set my wanderlust into high gear to visit your beautiful country.

  • Do you like extreme sports?

I like to watch them on TV but I’m too big a fraidy cat to try anything like that myself. If I ever tried to bungee jump, I would probably cry the whole time!

  • Do you have another project in your mind?

Yes, I’m working on two new stories right now. One is the third book in my Perfect Kisses series through Entangled Bliss, and the other is a New Adult story about some really cool college students at Stanford University. I’ve been having an absolute ball while writing both of them. But I think my main focus right now is on my brand new release, “Abby Road.”

  • Would you like to say something to your Romanian readers?

Vă mulţumesc pentru interviul luat. A fost pentru mine o plăcere să răspund la întrebări. Sper că veţi fi încântaţi după lecturarea cărţilor mele.

REVIEW

This book wasn’t amazing, but it was good. I liked the ideea, to see how is to be a rockstar and what they have to endure. All the paparazzi stuff and the cameras and the fans, nobody cares what do you feel. Everyone wants to be good for them.

I didn’t like the way in which the events have been told. In one chapter was something, somewhere, sometimes and in the other was totally another thing. When Abby decided she would stay in Seaside fo the whole summer, I wanted to be described that period, to know what had happened. I think important moments haven’t been told. Like the first kiss, I wanted to feel that emotion too.

It was too much nonessential description and less action. I wanted to know what a koncert is, how do you feel when you’re on stage. I’d like to be described this moments. Sometimes, I didn’t understand anything, the events were so entangled.

And now, let’s talk a little bit about the story. Abby is a very popular rockstar, but she has a trauma. Her brother died and she blames herself for what had happened. She met Todd, a sexy, hot marine and she fell in love with him. She spent a lovely summer with him and she is very relaxed when she comes back to LA. There, Max, a totally idiot, put her on diet and she must work all time. He doesn’t care about her, he wants only money. Her sister, Lidsay, told her Max is duplicitous and told her to not be his marionette. The mUstang Sally’s members had the same oppinion. But Abby was to scared to say ‘no’ to him.

When Todd left, she started to burying her in work, so she couldn’t feel the pain. But she open her eyes in some point and then all the things were on their way. And the end was so beautiful!

I wish I could like more this book, but I just can’t.

RATING

***3/5 moons***

dariofk

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ophelia London was born and raised among the redwood trees in beautiful northern California. Once she was fully educated, she decided to settle in Florida, but her car broke down in Texas and she’s lived in Dallas ever since. A cupcake and treadmill aficionado (obviously those things are connected), she spends her time watching arthouse movies and impossibly trashy TV, while living vicariously through the characters in the books she writes. Ophelia is the author of PLAYING AT LOVE, SPEAKING OF LOVE… and ABBY ROAD. Visit her at http://ophelia-london.blogspot.com. But don’t call when The Vampire Diaries is on.

BUY LINKS

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Abby-Road-Ophelia-London/dp/1620612445

Barnes&Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/abby-road-ophelia-london/1113595514

And now,

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

Thanks for stopping by! You’re the best!

STHY

About mariacris98

Be Weird. Be Random. Be Who You Are. Because You Never Know Who Would Love The Person You Hide.

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: „Abby Road” by Ophelia London + Giveaway

  1. Raluca P. spune:

    Sounds interesting. I have never read a book in which the protagonist is a celebrity, but I would love to. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. succes participantilor

  3. paunaoana spune:

    Castigatorii de aici?

Lasă un răspuns

