Author Interview: E C Newman

4ac98cdfb956d1005x688-black-and-white-wallpaper

First of all, I want to thank you for giving me the opportunity to interview you for my blog

1.Tell us something about you. Did you always wanted to be a writer?

Thank you for the opportunity to be on your blog! I’ve never been to Romania, so this is very cool.

About me…well, no, I didn’t always want to be a writer. In fact, I didn’t even give it serious thought until I was in college. I used to make up stories all the time, but never wrote them down until then. I wanted to be an actress most of my life and I did the ‘going out to Los Angeles’ thing and spent a few years there and decided that was not the life for me. It’s more fun to be a writer because no one is judging me on my appearance, just my talent.

Sort of generally about me, I’m a teacher as well; both English, Drama and Speech. I’m pretty new to it, so I’m still learning, but it’s rewarding when that one student’s eyes light up as they finally ‘get’ it.  It’s rare, but it’s nice.

2.Do you have a writing routine?

I wish I did. During the school year, my routine is pretty much whenever I can grab a half hour or so to type out something. I wrote Phase before I was a teacher and just had a regular nine to five job and didn’t have anything to take home for work. I tend to be a late night writer when I’m not teaching. Something about the quiet of nighttime and the eeriness of it is much more inspiring that midday when the sun is out.

3.For those who are unfamiliar with your book : PHASE, how would you introduce it?

15737640

I have the hardest time doing this. When people find out you’re getting published they automatically ask, but they really don’t want my twenty minute long diatribe about exactly what my book entails. It’s Young Adult with an element of the paranormal, but though there is romance, it’s more about friendship between two girls (Sophie and Jules) who deal with some not so normal circumstances. High school, boys, bullies, and secrets.

4.Do you have another projects in your mind?

I have tons of other projects in mind. Some are barely full story ideas and some are fully formed, but not written down yet. Phase is the beginning of a trilogy so those books are the ones most immediately in mind. But there are other ideas, other genres that pop up in my brain and I hate that I have limited time to write because I want to write them all now.

5.Which book do you wish you could have written?

Wow. That’s a great question. So many authors have written wonderful books that I wish I had even imagined. I wish I had written Peter Pan because I love that book. It’s the perfect kid’s book as far as I’m concerned and the imagination that created Neverland and everything else is just brilliant. It captures some of the non-logic of a child’s ability to create fantasy and truly transports you.

6.Favourite author of all time? Or favourite book?

At the moment, I’m pretty blown away by F. Scott Fitzgerald’s writing ability. The way he crafts a sentence is beyond my capabilities. I also love Dorothy L. Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries because she has the best side characters. They might only appear for a moment and a few lines, but they are perfectly developed and memorable. More up to date, I really enjoy Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines series, which is a spinoff of Vampire Academy. She has great female characters, especially Sydney Sage (Bloodlines), but I also happen to have a fictional crush on Adrian Ivashkov.

7.What kind of music do you like to listen?

I listen to a lot of music, a lot of genres. I grew up on 50s/60s rock and roll (I’m not that old, that was just what my parents listened to), and anything that has spawned out of that, I tend to like. I most recently bought Barton Hollow by The Civil Wars which is more mellow (something that’s happened to me in the last ten years when before I listened to punk). I like classical because it can be soothing and emotional. I’ve noticed that Arcade Fire is really good for when I’m writing. And grading.

The Civil Wars - Barton Hollow Lyrics

8.What kind of movies do you like to watch?

I have a pretty eclectic collection of DVDs. My students make fun of me but I own all three High School Musicals and like them for their cheesiness. I also have a few foreign films, some Shakespeare and Jane Austen. My first blu ray buy was The Avengers and my favorite movie of all time (at this point anyway) is Singing in the Rain.

9.Would you like to say something to your Romanian fans or *future fans*?

I can’t believe that I could even have fans in Romania. I’ll have to visit soon. I would mostly like to say ‘thank you’ for reading Phase. I’ve lived with those characters since 2009 and it’s so nice and just an honor to be able share them with you all. And I hope that you will continue to read the trilogy to see what happens to Sophie, Jules and company. Thank you for having me!!

I just love this interview<3 What do you guys think? Would you like to read ”Phase”?

Va place interviul?😀

4 thoughts on “Author Interview: E C Newman

  1. tmcclinton spune:

    amazing interview! And so many good questions from the blogger.🙂 Congrats, and I can’t wait to read Phase. The cover itself is really beautiful, but the story seems even better.🙂

  2. shehannemoore spune:

    What a lovely blog. Great interview D.C. I’ve been trying to like but the button won’t work for me.
    Ce minunat blog. Excelent interviu D.C. SI EU am incercat sa ca dar de butonul nu funcţionează pentru mine.

  3. […] note…check out this interview I did for a Romanian blog. You read that right. Romania! I might just have to visit soon. […]

Lasă un răspuns

