Interview with Sangu Mandanna, author of THE LOST GIRL

1.     Tell us something about you. Did you always wanted to be a writer?

I think I always knew I wanted to write, simply because it’s something I’ve always done. I didn’t consciously think of it as a career until I was about fifteen or sixteen. Until then it was something I did for fun, something I just did because it was such a huge part of me, something I couldn’t not do. But I did also have phases where I wanted to be a ballerina and an actress too!

 2.     Do you have a writing routine?

Not really! I should, I know, but I’m very much a slave to my whims and to my baby’s schedule. I write when I can, often only when I want to – it’s not very disciplined, but I can’t seem to do it any other way – and the only consistent part of the routine, I guess, is the fact that I always write at my desk and I usually end up fiddling with the font and spacing for ages because I can go any further. I’m very obsessive-compulsive about fonts.

 3.     For those who are unfamiliar with your book THE LOST GIRL, how would you introduce it?

It’s a story about a world in which three Weavers are trying to cheat death. They stitch echoes, copies of real people, so that they can replace their originals after an untimely death. It’s a trick, but it’s also hope because the Weavers want echoes to one day just be bodies, vessels for the soul to be transferred. Of course, right now (in the book), echoes have inconvenient thoughts and feelings of their own, and one of them, our narrator Eva, is willing to do whatever it takes to survive and to fight for her own life.

 4.     What inspired you to write it?

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I loved the idea of writing about somebody literally stitching a human being, and life, from scratch. And I also really wanted to tell a story from the point of view of that unfortunate creation – that ‘monster’.

 5.     Do you have another projects in your mind?

I do. I have a lot of ideas, most of which never go anywhere, and a couple of projects I’m seriously working on right now. I don’t want to say anything more than that because I always worry that talking about ideas too early will jinx them!

 6.    Which book do you wish you could have written?

So many! Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife is one, as is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Also Stardust and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. And I really, really do wish I’d written Harry Potter, but I also love those books so much that I think no one but JK Rowling could have done what she did with that story.

 7.     Favourite author of all time? Or favourite book?

Well, a few of my favourite books are in my previous answer! And I wish I had one favourite author of all time, but I love too many books for that. Some of my favourites are JK Rowling, Daphne du Maurier, Agatha Christie, and Neil Gaiman.

 8.     What kind of music do you like to listen?

Almost anything, really. When I’m writing I like instrumental stuff, heavy emotional songs, occasionally something heart-stopping and pulse-pounding. When I’m just listening to music my tastes can range from current pop to really old ballads.

 9.     Which is your favourite holiday?

I love seaside holidays: warm beaches, bleak cliffs, cold grey seas, anything ocean-y. One of my favourite places is Goa. It’s so beautiful, and warm, and some of my happiest childhood memories are set there. And I love the smell of the sea.

 10.   Do you have an advice for your Romanian readers?

Whatever you love doing, don’t ever give up on it. Even if it feels like you’re never ‘going to make it’ or ‘it’s not working as a job’ or anything like that, if you love it, it’s worth it. It’s always worth fighting for it. If you love doing it enough, it will be enough to just do it. And always do it for you. I write because I couldn’t not do it. And I always write for me. Otherwise it’s just not much fun.

Thank you so much, Sangu, for giving me the opportunity to interview you on my blog<3😀

Hope you guys enjoyed the interview and don’t forget to say what you think about Sangu or about her amazing book, THE LOST GIRL<3

6 thoughts on “Interview with Sangu Mandanna, author of THE LOST GIRL

  1. bianca spune:

    fetelorrrr cum ati reusit sa faceti rost de interviu? mie nici nu imi raspunde

  2. bianca spune:

    frumos interviul si aveti niste intrebari dragute

  3. bianca spune:

    autoarea imi place mult nu stiu de ce mi se pare o persoana cu capul pe umeri

  4. bianca spune:

    deci cartea imi place mult si ca subiect si ca si coperta tare as vrea sa apara in Romanica

Lasă un răspuns

